Upasana draws on nature in debut solo exhibition


Nature in its varied aspects is the predominant aspect in the works of artist Upasana Bora, whose debut solo art exhibition got underway in the State Art Gallery last week. A familiar face in the art fraternity of the State, having participated in a number of workshops and group exhibitions, this was her first solo art exhibition. The exhibition was inaugurated by noted singer Sudakshina Sharma.

A post-graduate degree holder in graphic arts from Vishwa Bharati University Kala Bhavana Shantineketan in West Bengal, Upasana’s debut solo exhibition has around 42 of her artworks being displayed. “The artworks exhibited have been done over a period of eight years. I started working on graphic arts since I the time I joined the Government College of Arts and Crafts in 2008 for my graduations,” says the artist.

Talking about her art, Upasana says, “Nature, which is the source of all inspirations, is the medium I use to express myself in my art. It’s only through nature that I can feel pleasure, pain, despair, delight besides logic between other sensations. I find a lot of similarity between the female form and nature since both are responsible for the existence of life forms as well as for living pleasure.”

Animals like the deer and butterfly and natural forms like mountains, leaves are some of the recurring elements in her artworks. “I have been fascinated by the deer since I was a child. But in my works, the deer does not stand for an animal but for a man.”

The female torso is another theme which the artist uses to express her ideas. “Out of all my works, I have tried to explore my ideas with a female torso, indicating that in spite of getting all liberties there still exists bindings, restrictions and barriers around the familiar ambit of nature. The same applies to all human beings who are all embedded within the ambit of nature.”

The exhibition concludes today.

Posted on March 4, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

